GHS Rethinking German History Prize

The German History Society has initiated an award for critical interventions in debates on gender, minorities, migration, ethnicity and equality, transnational and comparative history, including research on critical race studies, LGBTQ+ and queer studies, and disability studies, related to any aspect of the history of Germany and the German-speaking world in its broadest global context. 

The Rethinking German History Prize of £500 is awarded to two winners (in the undergraduate/Master’s and PhD/postdoc categories) who, in their written work, use lesser told histories in the fields above to challenge German historians to rethink how we approach our discipline.


The undergraduate/Master’s scheme is open to:

  • Any student registered for an undergraduate or Master’s degree at a university in the UK or the Republic of Ireland 

The PhD/Early Career scheme is open to:

  • Doctoral Researchers (full-time or part-time) registered at a UK or Irish university
  • Early career scholars (defined as being within ten years of PhD viva date)
  • Independent scholars and those working outside higher education institutions if within ten years of their PhD viva date

All applicants must be members of the German History Society (or become members in order to be awarded the prize). 

Submission Rules

  • The essay can be on any aspect of German History as specified above, including the history of German-speaking people both within and beyond Europe. Papers drawing on research in primary sources and critical, methodological, or theoretical essays are equally welcome.
  • The text of an essay (exclusive of references and bibliography) must not exceed 12,000 words.
  • The essay must be submitted in English.
  • Published articles and manuscripts which are already in press or have been submitted for publication in another journal are eligible and may be submitted by the author or nominated by a third party.
  • Applicants should submit manuscripts together with their personal details (name, address, email address, telephone number, current status/position) via email to the Chair of the German History Society ([email protected]), by 5pm on 15th July 2024. 

Queries or questions regarding the award scheme can also be directed to the Chair of the German History Society. 

Previous Winners

Chloe Marsden

- 1st Place 2022
'Neue Frau and Die Freundin: The formulation of distinct lesbian identities and subcultures in the Weimar Republic'