2023 Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Prize

All News

The German History Society is announcing a new round of competition for the award of our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Essay Prize. The 2023 EDI prize of £ 500 is awarded to two winners (in the undergraduate and postgraduate/postdoc categories) who in their written work champion the ideals of equality, diversity and inclusion.

We are looking for critical interventions in debates on gender, minorities, migration, ethnicity and equality. This includes research on critical race studies, LGBTQ+ and disability studies, related to any aspect of German history most broadly conceived.


The scheme is open to:
– Any student registered for an undergraduate or postgraduate degree (master’s or doctoral) at a university in the UK or the Republic of Ireland
– Postgraduate Researchers (full-time or part-time) registered at a UK or Irish university
– Early career scholars (defined as being within ten years of PhD viva date)
– Independent scholars and those working outside higher education institutions if within ten years of their PhD viva date
– All applicants must be members of the German History Society (or become members in order to be awarded the prize)

Submission Rules:

– The essay can be on any aspect of German History as specified above, including the history of German-speaking people both within and beyond Europe. Papers drawing on research in primary sources and critical, methodological, or theoretical essays are equally welcome.
– The text of an essay (exclusive of references and bibliography) must not exceed 12,000 words.
– The essay must be submitted in English.
– Manuscripts which are already in press or have been submitted for publication in another journal are not eligible.
– Applicants should submit manuscripts together with their personal details (name, address, email address, telephone number, current status/position) via email to the Chair of the German History Society, Professor Karin Friedrich, by 5pm on 15 July 2023: [email protected].

Queries or questions regarding the award scheme can also be directed to the Chair of the German History Society, Professor Karin Friedrich.